5.1 Judges Details

The Book of Judges mentions eleven leaders who are said to “judge” Israel:

Time line of judges and conquests by foreign countries

  1. Othniel
  2. Shamgar
  3. Deborah
  4. Gideon
  5. Tola
  6. Jair
  7. Jephthah
  8. Ibzan
  9. Elon
  10. Abdon
  11. Samson

Ehud, described in the text between Othniel and Shamgar, is never said to judge Israel, but is usually included as a judge because the history of his leadership follows a set pattern characteristic of five of the others